Support Center EPA Certification How do the different types of EPA 608...

How do the different types of EPA 608 Certification work?

The EPA 608 certification test is layered into four sections: 

  • Core
  • For servicing small appliances (Type I).
  • For servicing or disposing of high- or very high-pressure appliances, except small appliances and MVACs (Type II).
  • For servicing or disposing of low-pressure appliances (Type III).

Each section has 25 questions.

To become certified, the student must pass the Core and another section. For example, completing the Core and Type 1 exam will qualify that tech to be Type 1-Certified. If all sections are passed, the tech is considered a universal tech.

The use of technology such as cookies allows HeatSpring to operate and improve the functionality of our website and derive insights about our audience.

You can read more about our privacy policy here.